Motar Board - National College Senior Honor Society

Chapter Awards

Chapters should be honored for the excellence they exhibit throughout the year. All chapters are able to achieve the Silver Torch, which signifies the chapter has met minimum standards. The minimum standards a chapter must achieve can be reviewed in the Bylaws on page 6, section 1.22.

All chapters are encouraged to nominate themselves for higher honors such as the Project Excellence Award, the Gold Torch Award, Most Improved Chapter and our highest honor, the Ruth Weimer Mount Chapter Excellence Award. Nominations for all awards are due on or before May 15. These deadlines, and others, are listed on the calendar and with report forms.

View past award-winning chapters here.

Ruth Weimer Mount Chapter Excellence Award

The highest honor to any chapter, the Ruth Weimer Mount Chapter Excellence Award, is given to a chapter that has performed with excellence in chapter operations, advising, visibility, communications and participation. This year, the chapter that checked all of these boxes is San Diego State University's Jane K. Smith Cap & Gown Chapter.


Freeman and Fox Most Improved Chapter

The University of California - Los Angeles' Agathai chapter


Chapman University's Elie Wiesel chapter


Project Excellence Award - 2020 Winners

Project Excellence Awards recognize outstanding chapter projects with high member participation. A chapter must apply or be nominated to receive this award. Twenty-two chapters were recognized for forty-nine projects held in 2019-2020.







Gold Torch Award - 2020 Winners

Gold Torch honors chapters that exemplify scholarship, leadership, and service. They are dedicated to Mortar Board and its purpose and Ideals, and are active on their campus in ways that improve the quality of student life.  Twenty-six chapters were awarded the Gold Torch.








Silver Torch - 2020

Adrian College
The University of Akron
The University of Alabama
University of Arizona
Ball State University
Butler University
Carleton College
Carnegie Mellon University
Case Western Reserve University
Colorado State University
Cornell College
Denison University
Drury University
Florida State University
Fort Hays State University
Grove City College
Hanover College
University of Hawaii at Manoa
Lawrence University
The University of Miami
University of Minnesota Duluth
Mississippi State University
Mississippi University for Women
University of Mississippi
University of Missouri – Columbia
University of Montana
The University of New Mexico
University of North Dakota
Northern Michigan University
Northwestern University
Ohio Wesleyan University
Oklahoma Baptist University
University of Puget Sound
University of Redlands
Salem College
University of Tennessee at Knoxville
Texas Wesleyan University
The University of Toledo
Washburn University
Westminster University